top of page

My first supercar experience!

Date: 02-03-2019

Car: McLaren 675LT

Track: Goodwood Motor Circuit


This was quite a big deal for me, getting a ride in a McLaren 675LT at the age of 16 around the Goodwood Motor Circuit. I think we should start with some facts and figures of the car in question. It has 675PS (666HP) paired with 700NM of torque pushed out of the 3.8L Twin Turbo V8, this makes it capable of 0-62 MPH in 2.9 seconds, 0-125 MPH in 7.9 seconds and a top speed of 205 MPH. Those are some pretty impressive statistics considering how well it grips and brakes through corners, then again, with a wet weight of just 1,328 KG that's hardly surprising.


So onto my laps in the car. I, somewhat nervously, pulled open the door and slid myself into the 'comfort' bucket seat which was, as named, impressively comfortable. I did have a small chat with Bruce, the owner, before we started going out. I explained that this was my first time in a supercar but I told him not to hold back and he certainly didn't. We were first in the que of cars to go out, followed by a Lamborghini Aventador and a Porsche 911 Turbo S. As the marshall waved his hand to set us free from the pits, Bruce slapped his right foot to the floor and tested that 0-62 time and my head was slammed back into the seat as we hurtled towards the first right hand corner. Then came the first impression of the brakes, despite it only being a mellow braking zone, I was in shock. I had never felt brakes quite so powerful and I didn't even know what was coming. As we continued to speed round the track we approached St. Mary's corner which is a harsh, off-camber left hander which the car fell through, hunting for grip before Bruce could power out of the corner. Afer another swift double-right hand corner, we were onto the back straight. Before this day, the quickest speed I have ever gone was around 115 MPH which got blown away on this first lap alone. Bruce was taking it easy to make sure the car was warm before really getting on it but we still pushed it up to around 140 MPH which was somewhat disorienting. The braking zone off of this straight was really where you felt the brakes in action, as the anchors drop you get wrenched forward into the seat belt that holds you back from flying through the front windscreen.


As the laps went on, my body got more and more used to the car and I started realising how much I wanted to never stop taking supercars round tracks which simply solidified my future goals of owning a supercar one day. We got quicker and quicker around the lap as the tyres and brakes warmed up, Bruce started pushing it further and further on the straight, accelerating earlier and braking later. The fastest speed we got up to was a mind-blowing 160 MPH which certainly reconfigures the brain because things are coming at you quicker than you can imagine.

After the chequered flag was waved, many laughs and happy words were shared. We came back in from the cool-down lap and I again thanked Bruce for the ride and told him how much I want a supercar, especially after that run! I learned some more about some of the other cars in his garage and his social media etc.


I was frankly blown away with the speed of the 675LT and I certainly won't be forgetting that ride anytime soon! Thanks for reading!

A shot my dad got of me in the 675LT. A huge thanks again to Bruce for giving me this opportunity!

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page